Marine Patrol

Douglas County Marine Patrol

The focus of Marine Patrol is to promote boating safety. This is accomplished by boat safety examinations, Citations, Warnings and school education programs.

Douglas County Sheriff's Marine Patrol is funded by the Oregon State Marine Board (80%) and Douglas County (20%). It consists of two full time deputies, Darrell Norton and Ken Zarbano, along with two seasonal full time cadets. The unit is supervised by Sergeant Brad O'Dell. Our fleet consists of six boats (24'Almar with twin 125 outboard props, 20' Almar jet, 18' Almar RAIV jet, 20' Seaswirl outboard, and a 14' Sotar cataraft). All of the boats are furnished by the Marine board.

Regular patrols are conducted on all lakes and rivers in Douglas County. Some of the most popular are Diamond Lake, Lemolo Lake, Cooper Creek, Galesville Reservoir, Ben Irving Reservoir, Loon Lake, Tahkenitch Lake, Winchester Bay, Umpqua River system and Smith River system.